Sir, kamukha mo ang aso


At work , our Bangaladeshi Cleaner and Newbie ‘Norbit’ are always at a war. Somehow Jamaal (our Farrash) doesn’t like Norbit . From the time he has joined work Jamaal keeps saying repeatedly ” Kumastaka” (“Hello” in Tagalog) he thinks its kind of insult , Today I heard Norbit reply “kamukha mo ang aso” . I know it’s not the reply one gives when greeted “Kumastaka” , its ‘Mabuti’ . So I asked him what “kamukha mo ang aso” meant . He said it means ” Your face looks like a dog, I’m fed up with this bastard saying ‘kumastaka’ every two minutes” .. he explained .
Very similar incident , yesterday I was at this shop where my friends work , After a little chat when customers (Arab ladies) entered and I got up to leave , My friend said to me ” Rukh ! iski gaand dekke javo ” (Wait ! Check her ass and Go)  I just ran out of there . Later I gave him my piece of mind because If she had known Hindi (like many Arabs do) it would have caused trouble for no reason .
BTW this ‘wise guy’ once was insulting ‘ some nationality’ (insert a african country) in front of a ‘Amreeki’ , who turned out to be pure ‘some national’ who wanted to break the neck of ‘this’ idiot. Luckily he didn’t and ‘this’ guy lived to see another day to learn a very valuable lesson … “respect” .
Point is , sometimes we speak in our native tongue thinking that the other person will not understand it , but world is getting smaller and smaller everyday.

16 comments on “Sir, kamukha mo ang aso

  1. oh lol once I was talking persian (well 3ayam) so that the shop owner won’t understand but she turned out to be from Iran.. but good thing I wasn’t saying something bad and I even praised her loooooool..

  2. I agree… RESPECT! whenever there is a non Arabic speaker we use English
    once my friend, who is overweight, was in Sultan Center and the cashier said something in Tagalog unknowingly that my friend is fluent… she said something like look at her shes fat! i think she lives in the kitchen
    and my friend replied in Tagalog I understood what you said and its rude! It was bad :-S

    same happened once in front of me, a foreigner passed by a Kuwaiti and accidentally pumped into him… he said kalb… the foreigner replied DOG!

  3. It is! And you know what, it is even worse when ppl think you’re from someplace and you are actually from the same place they are from! It happens quite a bit heh..

  4. Blasha : No ! i made it up ! but he looks like one !

    Shosho : You are a wonderful person , thats why !

    Ansam : Yeah ! lot of us expats do that , once ‘Wilson’ was commenting on a customer ‘ look the biatch has come’ (in hindi) and she heard and she complained to the office .

    N. happens to me most of the time, Indians make fun of my bald head thinking i am Arab .. I ignore most of the time .

    Bu Ziyad : LMAO! yeah ! that would have been better.

    Ne : lol ! you mean the third guy? yeah ! AZZ he is .

  5. I’m startled reading this post…I can speak Tagalog because I’m from the Philippines…though that is not the local dialect spoken in my place…

    First off, there is nothing insulting with saying “Kumusta ka?” which literally means “how are you?” coming from the spanish “como esta?”! 🙂 And yes, you are to reply “Mabuti” meaning…”fine”…but I do agree hearing the same thing over and over…is quite annoying…so maybe just ask the person to stop…rather than replying “kamukha mo ang aso” which means “you look like a dog!”. Notice I did the correction…LOL

    I work in a company which main office is in Mexico and we have some expats here who verbally abuse some people in Spanish…there was a time one manager called me “puta” meaning bitch…and all that…not knowing I can speak the language…I chose not to say anything…’til we had a gathering and I was asked to make a speech…and so I had my turn…telling them with the onset of globalization…people being all over and technology birdging our gaps…how could we still exert efforts building walls by name calling people thinking they don’t understand our language. Ha, you should have seen the look in that person’s face!!!

    My point is…if you have to say it in another language hoping the subject won’t get it…then most likely it’s not worth saying! Or why address it in a way you are sure or hoping not to be understood?!

    Everytime I travel…and people try to say things which I don’t understand…I always turn to them with a smile and tell them, bless your heart! LOL

    Oh…I’m so back in BLOGland…I just blogged here!!! ROFL

  6. My friend speaks fluent philipino so she once over heard 2 philipino manicurists talk crap about her and she replied back. There faces turned bright red!

    Also also, I speak a little french and I know all the french curses, so that also worked for me when I was in france!

  7. hehehe it’s not only about talking behind someone’s back..when i first came back to kuwait i had forgotten that some kuwaitis speak a little persian…so i learned the hard way not to talk about my *cough, cough* little secrets out loud in public 🙂 🙂

  8. So rude =D,, look at her ass LOL!! Most people like to learn the language of people who live around them. So if you’re living in another country, chances are the natives know a word or two of your language, and vice versa.

  9. It happened to me once when I was in a coop, 2 kuwaiti ladies talked about my clothes in arabic language (fusha), their eyes turned big when I replied in the same language. They didn’t know that the only arabic language i understand is the “fusha” and not the local dialect!

  10. Well I can say that I learned that lesson when I was 15 in USA, speaking portuguese… I was using a lot of bad words with my friends and there was a couple who understood it all. They looked at us and replied we should have manners… I was sooo ashamed! 🙂

Leave a Reply

