Battling Cancer and Depression In Kuwait


A simple sigmoidoscopy  would have eased a lot of my misery, I was having fissure problems in early 2010, I kept going to one Dr Katimini Kanavati at New International Clinic Kuwait for 6 months, all he did was put his finger up my anus every 15 days and prescribe Daflon. Then finally I changed the hospital (only when Dr K quit his job)  to Dar Al shifa where they operated me immediately but didn’t do any further investigation during/after surgery, had they done a simple sigmoidoscopy during the surgery the tumor which was sitting right at the edge of my rectum would have been discovered and I would have not had a fisserectomy but a proper Lower Anterior resection instead. It was only when I started bleeding severely after 6 months of fissurectomy doctors at Dar Al Shifa decided to do a colonoscopy and discover the malignant tumor. By now the tumor had spread to other parts and my life turned upside down to a level of no coming back. All I needed was one simple sigmoidoscopy, and the private hospitals in Kuwait failed me. 

So that’s the state of health care in private hospitals in Kuwait, I wonder how many lives need to be sacrificed before govt allows private hospitals to run oncology department in their full strength. I am not complaining about KCCC (Kuwait cancer control Center), they are doing the best to their ability given the sheer number cancer patients lineup every morning. But I can’t understand why are private hospitals  denied a chance to treat (financially able) cancer patients. I ran a search for Oncologist Kuwait on google, what is surprising is there is NONE (except Dr A Behbehani at Al Salam Hospital), I find this utterly unbelievable as the number of cancer patients ever-increasing every year I wonder how much KCCC alone can handle. Right now I am under post surgery/chemotherapy depression, and I have no doctors to turn to, as going to KCCC is definitely not an option as they offer little or NO support for depression, patients are left on their own (and God) to deal with it. Also it is very exhausting to visit KCCC as you have to reach there as early as 6 am, if you are late by an hour appointments are difficult to get. I guess this is the reason Kuwaitis go abroad for treatment. Even I prefer to go to India for treatment because ‘your oncologist’ is available 24X7, and there is a vast difference in the moral support the oncologist provides in Kuwait and India (or elsewhere). 

So yes, Right now I am depressed and venting my frustration here because I have no doctors (oncologist in particular) that I can consult and share my fears. I guess that is the case of every expat/local cancer patient in Kuwait. If cancer won’t kill us, depression sure will.

9 comments on “Battling Cancer and Depression In Kuwait

  1. Grey!!! Bro thats a sad news really!! hope ur doing well now and sorry to hear about all this that you have been through! So whats your progress situation after the operation?

    • I am doing OK Amu, it’s been a hell of ride though 😆

      I had a metastasis and undergoing treatment, and currently under observation. Got a CT scan coming up this October. Hoping for the best.

  2. Grey, would you like to do an art of living course? its guaranteed to relieve from stress and depression. If you are interested more details about this, pls mail.

Leave a Reply

